Six candidates vying to serve as area’s next MP

The field is set for the Sept. 20 federal election.

There are six candidates are in the running to serve as the next Member of Parliament for Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock – incumbent Jamie Schmale (Conservative), Judi Forbes (Liberal), Zac Miller (NDP), Angel Godsoe (Green), Gene Balfour (Libertarian) and Alison Davidson (People’s Party of Canada).

Advance polls are scheduled to run from Sept. 10 to 13.

Voters can also cast through ballot through the mail by applying online or by contacting any Elections Canada office across before 6 p.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 14.

Voting at advance or election day polls is still the simplest and most efficient option. A number of health and safety measures are in place at each polling location to keep you safe,” reads a notice from Elections Canada.

“If you want to vote by mail, plan early. Deadlines apply, and you must allow enough time for your special ballot voting kit to reach you and for you to return your marked ballot to Elections Canada by election day.”

For more information, visit www.elections.ca/