Brock volunteers recognized by MP Jamie Schmale
Schmale Ed Page
Ed Page of the Beaverton Legion was among the local residents that received a Canada 150 award from area MP Jamie Schmale on Thursday night. Photos courtesy of John Grant

Dozens of Brock Township’s community champions were celebrated Thursday (Oct. 12) night at the Beaverton Township as area MP Jamie Schmale handed out Canada 150 awards.

Township residents receiving awards included Cathy Allison, Ron Baird, Donna Baydak, Carolyn Carter, Sarah Cowley, Christine Dukelow, Peter Elliott, J Scott Gardner, Anne Hardy, Deb McClure, Peggy McLean, Susie Olhiser, Ed Page, Adeline Pettit, Cyndi Shaffer, Randy Skinner, Ben Smith, Barb Smith, Cliff Teel, Ann Toplak, Andrew Veale, Paula Warder and Dale St. John.

A number of local groups were also recognized including the Beaverton Horticultural Society, Beaverton Lions Club, Beaverton Special Events, Cannington Lions Club, Durham Community Care Brock, Friends of Sunderland Library, Sunderland Legion Branch 141, Sunderland Line Dancers and Sunderland Lions Club.

Though not formally issued by the federal government, Schmale said he wanted to honour those that have worked tirelessly to help build those communities.

“Our community’s deep roots in agriculture and the contributions of faith communities, service clubs and many volunteers have played an important role in our history…There is no better way to celebrate this important year than by recognizing the outstanding contributions of the people who have made Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock great,” he said in announcing the award earlier this year.

The Canada 150 Awards were presented in 15 different categories including agriculture; arts, culture, and heritage; caregivers; community builders; educators; entrepreneurs; faith in action; first responders; good neighbours; Legions and ladies/youth auxiliaries; older adults; service clubs; sports and recreation; youth/student; and other.

%d bloggers like this: